Conservation Areas (planning)

Exmoor National Park has 16 Conservation Areas. These are areas designated for their 'special architectural and historic interest.'

Within conservation areas, certain additional planning controls apply, although generally these are very similar to those that apply across the whole of the National Park.  You will need to apply for planning permission for demolition and give notice of works to trees. 

Please see

with regard to demolition advice and for trees please see

It is best practice to undertake regular Appraisals of Conservation Areas. The Appraisal highlights the key character of the area and sets out actions that may be required to maintain and enhance these areas.

The Conservation Area Appraisals for the 16 Exmoor Conservation Areas can be viewed below (the Exmoor Farmsteads document covers 4 separate Conservation Areas);

Conservation areaCurrent Status of Appraisal
AllerfordAdopted 2017
BossingtonAdopted 2019
DulvertonAdopted 2019
DunsterAdopted 2018
Exmoor FarmsteadsAdopted 2018
LuccombeAdopted 2018
LynmouthAdopted 2018
LyntonAdopted 2019
ParracombeAdopted 2019
PorlockAdopted 2013
Porlock WeirDraft
SelworthyAdopted 2017
Wootton CourtenayAdopted 2018

You can view the Conservation Areas on this map